[6/10/2016] Ernesto Mejia first to twenty home runs in either league

Ernesto Mejia smacked his twentieth home run of the season on June 9 during a game against the Yomiuri Giants at Seibu Prince Dome. He is the first player in either league to hit twenty home runs this season.

Mejia is the seventh player in franchise history to hit twenty home runs before anyone else in the league. The other six: Futoshi Nakanishi (1953-55), Koichi Tabuchi (1983), Koji Akiyama (1986), Orestes Destrade (1992), Alex Cabrera (2001), and Takeya Nakamura (2009, 2011). He is also the fifth foreign player in franchise history to hit at least twenty home runs in three or more consecutive seasons. The other four: Tony Roig (1965-1967), Terry Whitfield (1981-1983), Destrade (1989-1992), and Cabrera (2001-2007).

Mejia has now also hit a home run against every NPB team other than Seibu.

Source: Sponichi 6/10/2016, Sanspo 6/10/2016

Leave a Reply