[6/14/2017] Yamaguchi, Mathieson, Caminero combine for no-hitter

Shun Yamaguchi, Scott Mathieson, and Arquimedes Caminero to throw a no-hitter tonight against the Softbank Hawks at Tokyo Dome. They are just the second trio in NPB history to record a no-hitter. The other trio: Nippon Ham’s Tomoya Yagi, Hisashi Takeda, and Micheal Nakamura accomplished the feat in twelve innings against Softbank at Yahoo Dome on April 15, 2006.

There have been three other no-hitters that involved two pitchers:

  • June 22, 1941 – Kurowashi’s Miyoshi Nakagawa and Shigezo Ishihara against Nagoya at Korakuen Stadium
  • August 2, 1941 – Hankyu’s Takashi Eda and Kotaro Mori against Nagoya at Nishinomiya Stadium
  • November 1, 2007 (Nippon Series) – Chunichi’s Daisuke Yamai and Hitoki Iwase against Nippon Ham at Nagoya Dome

Leave a Reply