Tag Archive: 90th Spring Koshien

[1/11/2018] Tie Break Rules for Spring and Summer Koshien

The steering committee for the 90th Spring Koshien (Senbatsu) met in Osaka on January 10 and selected Ima Arite for the opening march. Ima Arite is also currently the tournament song. The thirty-six participating high schools will be decided by the selection committee on January 26.

The following tie break rules will also be introduced, not just to the Spring Koshien, but also to the Summer Koshien and various spring, summer, and fall tournaments.

  • the tie break will be used beginning in the thirteenth inning. Innings will begin with runners on first and second and no out.
  • the batting order will resume where it ended in the previous inning.
  • if the game has to be canceled after the start of a tie break, the game will end in a tie and a rematch will be played on the following day (or at the earliest possible date).
  • if the game is still tied after the fifteenth inning, the game will continue, however, each pitcher will be limited to a total fifteen innings. Pitchers that reach fifteen innings will only be able to continue playing as a position player.
  • the tie break will not be used during the final game. If the game is still tied after fifteen innings, then the game will end and a rematch will be played the following day (or at the earliest possible date). The tie break will be used for the rematch game.

Additional rules:

  • the two runners on base at the start of tie break innings will not count as earned runs if they score. The two runners will not get credit for being on base. Stolen bases, caught stealing, runs, and left on base will count, as will other stats connected to the runners, like RBI and double plays.
  • there will be no complete games.
  • there will be no hitters.

Source: Nikkan Sports 1/10/2018, Nikkan Sports 1/10/2018, Daily Sports 1/10/2018, Daily Sports 1/10/2018

One Comment

[11/26/2017] Senbatsu Tie-Break Rules, Kanagawa split into two for 100th Summer Koshien

The Japan High School Baseball Federation (JHBF) decided that the new tie-break rules for the 90th Spring Koshien next year will be finalized in January 2018. The JHBF originally planned to set the final rules before the end of the year, but they decided to extend the deadline so that they can take all suggestions (provided through surveys given by regional federations across Japan) in consideration.

Source: Sponichi 11/26/2017, Nikkan Sports 11/26/2017Sanspo 11/26/2017

The JHBF decided the 100th Summer Koshien message will be, “Arigato Natsu 100-kai Korekaramo” (Thank you, summer 100 times, from here on too).

Source: Daily Sports 11/24/2017

The Kanagawa High School Baseball Federation (KHBF) decided to split the Kanagawa region into two tournaments for the 100th Summer Koshien: the South Kanagawa Tournament and the North Kanagawa Tournament. The federation has 194 high school members and ninety-six will be in the South Kangawa and ninety-eight in the North. The Kanagawa Tournament will be split into North and South for the first time since the 90th Koshien Tournament in 2008.

Source: Daily Sports 11/24/2017Sponichi 11/24/2017, Nikkan Sports 11/24/2017, Official List of North/South Schools (pdf, in Japanese)

See also:


[9/19/2017] Tie-break rules and start date for 90th Spring Koshien

The steering committee for the 90th Spring Koshien met in Osaka today. Tie-break rules will be added beginning next year. The rules will take effect in the thirteenth inning. Additional details will be decided later (some time by November).

Note: 131 games Spring/Summer tournament games have gone into extra innings since 2000. Of the 131 games, twenty-one required more than twelve innings, or about sixteen percent of all extra inning games.

The ninetieth Spring Koshien will feature thirty-six schools, four more than usual. Thirty-two schools will be regular selections, three twenty-first century selections, and one Jingu Tournament slot.

Regular Selection Regions

Hokkaido (one), Tohoku (three), Kanto/Tokyo (six), Hokushinetsu (three), Tokai (three), Kinki (six), Chugoku (three), Shikoku (three), Kyushu (four).

The Tohoku, Hokushinetsu, and Tokai regions will each have an extra slot compared to previous years. The Chugoku/Shikoku regions usually have two each and share one slot for a total of five, but will each have three.

The tournament will take place over thirteen days beginning on March 23, 2018. The selection committee will meet on January 26, 2018. Brackets will be decided on March 16, 2018.

Source: Sanspo 9/19/2017, Sanspo 9/19/2017, Nikkan Sports 9/19/2017, Daily Sports 9/19/2017Sponichi 9/19/2017, Sponichi 9/19/2017, Asahi 9/19/2017


[7/5/2017] Thirty-six schools to participate in 2018 Spring Koshien

The Spring Koshien steering committee met in Osaka earlier today. They decided to increase the number of participating schools from thirty-two to thirty-six next year in celebration of the tournament’s ninetieth anniversary.

The breakdown of regions:

  • Hokkaido 1
  • Tohoku 3
  • Kanto/Tokyo 6
  • Tokai 3
  • Hokushinetsu 3
  • Kinki 6
  • Chugoku 3
  • Shikoku 3
  • Kyushu 4

Special brackets:

  • 21st Century 3
  • Jingu Tournament 1

Additional details, like the schedule, will be decided during a steering committee meeting in September.

Source: Daily Sports 7/5/2017, Nikkan Sports 7/5/2017, Sponichi 7/5/2017

NPB Standings [Full]
Hiroshima 143 88 51 4
Hanshin 143 78 61 4
Yokohama 143 73 65 5
Yomiuri 143 72 68 3
Chunichi 143 59 79 5
Yakult 143 45 96 2
Softbank 143 94 49 0
Seibu 143 79 61 3
Rakuten 143 77 63 3
Orix 143 63 79 1
Nippon Ham 143 60 83 0
Lotte 143 54 87 2
Don't forget to check these out!